Raspberry Rhubarb Crumble

This is the first time I’ve ever taken two weeks off of work since starting 6 years ago (with the exception of the 3 months when I had Little O). I thought it would feel different. Maybe having a vacation at home isn’t the best way to spend a holiday. Not really sure. I got a lot accomplished, and have generated a few new ideas along the way. It has been a good stretch. Relaxing to say the least. However, I’m not done. Never had that feeling before, of not feeling like returning to work. Not that I’m dreading it or anything, I just think being at home with the family has been too fantastic, and I don’t want to give it up.

So, now the big guy and I are trying to work on a solid plan of how to spend more of our time together, to feel like there is a better balance between work life and home life. Because, let’s face it I’ve got to work, and I like my job – but I just love my family more. Currently, I spend more time at the thing that I like than with the people that I love. So here’s our little plan.

1. A day without electricity. A day where we have to figure out what to do, without using the car, computers or TV. It could be one day a week, or a fortnight, or maybe just once a month. Where we plan ahead, make up a couple of meals, spend the day together, go for a walk, play at the park and in the evening have dinner by candlelight and read stories with the flashlight under homemade blanket tents.

2. More child-focussed time. When we aren’t having to dedicate time to Little House, which will consume considerable time, we want to really focus our attention on the children. Making sure that we are taking good care of them, that their needs and wants are being filled. Not sure how this will be different than how it is now, but I have a feeling that making a point of dedicating time to them, with one on one activities will make a difference to their overall happiness (they’re pretty happy right now, but we’ve got more to give them for sure).

3. Finishing more projects and making sure that the grown-ups in this family are getting their fair share of grown-up playtime. The kids go to bed at 7pm, so there is a lot of time for each of us to work on developing our non-work projects. This vacation time has been good for this, but there are still a lot of ideas swimming around our little minds that we want to put onto paper and into development.

That’s about it for now. There’s much more out there, but three things to start with are good enough for me. All this should leave more time for bike riding, event planning and rhubarb raspberry crumble eating.

 

Leave a Reply

