Week 3 of 52 Weeks Towards a better Little House

Thanks again to Jules of Pancakes and French Fries for committing to the useful & beautiful William Morris Project. It is so helpful knowing that there are others taking part, and following through on the ideal to “have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful”. This week’s project is something that I started a while back, and never finished. It just wasn’t right, so I stopped working on it, and there it remained for the last few months.

I have to finish a few more things in the pantry – like some built-in shelves beside the hot water tank, but they’ll have to wait until another day (you’ll see what looks like a pile of stuff in the corner there, that’s just your imagination playing tricks on you, I’d never have such piles, never).

Tool/Pot Rack Project

Not shown here is the time delay between the putty drying and sanding…time lapse wouldn’t that be exciting to watch, like watching water boil, which we all know to be totally riveting. I used some leftover paint that we had from a previous project. It is a very light green in a gloss finish, making it easy to wipe down. Once it was all up, it looked a bit unfinished, so we ran down to Rona and grabbed some wood veneer trim. It went on like a treat, and looked pretty good, except for the darkening that happened to the paint after ironing the shit out of a little strip of wood. I did touch-ups on the burnt parts, and it looked fine. Just fine.

It could have been left it at this point, but I decided that the frame needed to be painted in a contrasting colour to help anchor the rack in the room. So off to Rona again, this time picking up a little tester jar of flat black.

It feels a little odd to say this, but organizing the tools on the wall gave me an incredibly intense sense of deep, deep pleasure. Big S said that I was smiling the whole time. It was a very satisfying project. If I could spend all day putting things on walls and organizing I’d be as happy as a fox in a hen house (oh yes, I am that big of a hick, but I’m an organized hick and I attend the symphony and enjoy it, so I don’t need to qualify this at all – which makes it so much better). 

As luck would have it, there was just enough paint to give the tub a good couple of coats, so there’s another project ticked-off my list! I forgot to take a before photo; imagine that there aren’t any black swipes of paint on the upper edge – see, anything is possible if you put your mind to it.


After it was all dry, a little fellow requested a bath-by-candlelight.


15 thoughts on “Week 3 of 52 Weeks Towards a better Little House

  1. How Julia Child meets Tool Time! An organized pot and tool rack is amazing. Our tools always end up in the kitchen anyway, so this is something to consider! Thanks for posting!

  2. I was just going to make the same Julia Child comment! I love the claw foot tub painted black. My friend, Tiffany, did something similar but applied a stencil all over it. It looked really cool!

    • Will look-up the stencil idea, still trying to come to terms with not liking the bathroom, but not being ready for a renovation (financially), trying to figure out what to do about the tiles, as they cover the majority of the bathroom and I’ve never liked them (but that is a whole different story).

  3. Oh, I bet you feel so good having that project out of the way! The pot/tool rack filled up with everything in it’s place looks so organized. Now if you could just get everyone to put things back in their places! ;)

    Love the bathtub!

  4. This has got to have you feeling so good that momentum is building. Like….what can I fix next?!

    Love the tub. Left two behind when we moved 13 yrs ago….I think I will be over it before too much longer.

    • It is hard to not think about tackling the really big projects, these little ones get me all excited for the ‘big’ stuff, the ‘real’ renovations…hopefully I can keep the momentum going!

  5. Thanks Nicole, he’s been asking for a candlelit bath for ages – I have no clue where he got the idea from. But he was extremely pleased with the candles, and even let me wash his hair – which is no small feat. :-)

  6. Hello soul sister, I don’t believe we have met (that’s not creepy at all, right?). I could arrange, organize, and re-organize all day long. when I leave this earth, my heaven will be a giant Container Store. Absolutely love the tool storage! We are short on storage space as well, although we are blessed with a few closets. Can’t wait to see your other solutions!

  7. Ha, Julia Child all the way. Only thing missing are the outlines put around each pot so that they are hung back where they belong. Great project!
    We had a club foot tub in our first apartment and I absolutely loved it. The black paint is absolutely perfect.

  8. Monica – Oh the lines, the lines – putting the outlines of the objects is high on my list…I just wanted to make sure that all of pots/pans and tools are exactly where they need to be – because if they’re not, then the outlines would get all crazy pants and I wouldn’t be able to sleep at night :-)

Leave a Reply

