Week 19 – Beautiful & Useful

Only a few short weeks ago the nights seemed endless. Living above the forty-ninth parallel can leave one’s vitamin D woefully low. I’m barely even above the all-important geographic demarkation, and can’t imagine what it would be like to live in complete darkness for the winter. But I can imagine what it would be like to live in light for all of summer. Even though I’m thoroughly enjoying the transition to light, the littlest of our family is having a hard time going to bed by day. The nights have been restless. Utterly restless. Big S and I are yearning for more sleep, practically begging for it. No one tells you that your five year old won’t be sleeping through the night now that the summer-like heat is here (by the way, it isn’t even hot yet…it is only 26 degrees). In a couple of weeks these restless nights will be a thing of the past. He’ll have gotten used to the warmth of summer, and will be all too happy when the sprinkler comes out. Can’t wait for the transition to be complete.

Every evening I’ve been out walking the neighbourhood, trying to find gardens that I like, and flowers that would go well in my garden. I’ve been trying to document my walks, making sure to record where each flower resides, researching the names of the ones that aren’t familiar, and finding out where I can purchase or exchange (I say this loosely, for the first time in my life, I’m talking to strangers, asking them questions, starting dialogues… – this is a big step, I don’t like talking to people I don’t know, and am working hard to overcome the feelings of dread and sickness at saying ‘hello, your garden is beautiful’). All this is meant to say, that I’ve been outside pretty well every spare minute that I’ve got, working…on my garden, making it beautiful and useful – here’s my garden so far this year

4 thoughts on “Week 19 – Beautiful & Useful

    • Thanks May, just got inside now…another sunshiny garden-filled day. Probably should get some things done, but am having a hard time not soaking-in the sunshine.

Leave a Reply

