A Few of My Favourite Things 21 of 52 – Liquid Gold

Honestly, where do I start?

How do I love thee, let me count the ways? No, no, that is too trite, too simplistic.

I love coffee – truly, madly, deeply.

During both of my pregnancies I went coffee free, but the first thing I wanted after the arrivals of my bundles of joy, was a delicious, full, and satisfying cup of coffee.

Over the last few years, I’ve been working really hard towards simplifying our lives. Removing the extraneous, making sure that we eat healthily, exercise regularly, have lots of fun, and take time to love one another. At times I’ve thought about abandoning coffee altogether. However, with each 5am wake-up, I have become more and more enamoured with the hot nectar of the gods. I’m not sure I’ll ever truly be free from her bonds, but as long as I’m going to be drinking coffee, I’m going to at least relish that one lovely cup a day (alright, so sometimes I actually have two…but who’s counting?).

Coffee is one of the places where I feel spoiled, we splurge a bit on the beans. Big S usually makes me a beautiful coffee every morning. He brings it up to bed, and I get to sit there in peace and quiet, and savour each sip. He has refined his barista skills over the years, and makes a pretty lovely latte.

The only baby left in our home is our little coffee maker, and we treat her with care and love, always welcoming the joy and happiness that she brings to us. We bought our little Baby Gaggia after we were married, about seven years ago.

Each evening we take turns grinding coffee beans in our little hand-crank burr grinder. It took a little while to get the grind just right, but for $20, it does a decent and consistent job.

Coffee, my rainy day, sunny morning, misty dawn – all weather friend. Thanks for the good mornings.

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Few of My Favourite Things 21 of 52 – Liquid Gold

Leave a Reply

